The Session

In Presbyterian churches, congregations elect persons of wisdom, maturity of faith, and demonstrated skills in leadership and compassion to serve as Ruling Elders in a body called “the Session.”  Ruling Elders are chosen to discern and measure the congregation’s fidelity to the Scriptures and to strengthen and nurture its faith and life.  Ruling Elders, together with Pastors (Ministers of Word and Sacraments), exercise leadership, government, spiritual discernment, and discipline, as well as having responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church, including ecumenical relationships.

In First Presbyterian Church of Umatilla, the Session pursues its responsibilities through committees, each having a Ruling Elder as committee chair. 

Currently, our organization is:


Personnel/Security – David Kirkpatrick (2022)
Finance/Stewardship – Elliott Seabrook (2022)
Property – Bob Brady (2024)
Education/Scholarship – Gail Tibbals (2023)
Outreach – Janet Lewis (2023)
Worship – Wes Locke (2024)
Member Care & Fellowship – Laura Wright (2022)
Relief – Peggy Hasley (2024)
Memorials – Elliott Seabrook (2022) & Bob Brady (2024)
Nominating – Gail Tibbals (2023) & Wes Locke (2024)

Scroll to Top
Skip to content